Workshops

The Counseling Department offers informational workshops to educate students and assist them in reaching their academic/career goals.  See below for more details.    

ACADEMIC ADVISING WORKSHOP (AAW)- WINTER/SPRING 2018

All new students are required to attend an AAW.  Students will meet with a counselor who will assist the them in understanding his/her English and math placement and help him/her develop a first semester plan. View a list of AAW dates.

GRADES MATTER WORKSHOP - 2017/2018

The Counseling Department has developed this workshop to help students understand his/her academic and/or progress standing.  Students will learn strategies to get back on track and regain good standing with the college.  The workshop will also cover the consequences of being on probation such as unit limitation, financial aid eligibility, and priority registration.  Students who receive a probation email notification are strongly encouraged to attend the workshop.

Santa Maria Campus 
September 5 Tuesday 4-5:30 p.m. A-103
September 20 Wednesday 10-11:30 a.m. A-403
October 10 Tuesday 4-5:30 p.m. A-103
October 25 Wednesday 10-11:30 a.m. A-403
November 7 Tuesday 4-5:30 p.m. A-103
November 15 Wednesday 10-11:30 a.m. A-403
December 5 Tuesday 4-5:30 p.m. A-403

 

   Lompoc Valley Center
August 16 Wednesday 10-11:30 a.m. Bldg. 1-202/203
August 31 Thursday 1-2:30 p.m. Bldg. 1-202/203
September 13 Wednesday 12:30-2 p.m. Bldg. 1-202/203
October 12 Thursday 10-11:30 a.m. Bldg. 1-202/203
October 24 Tuesday 4-5:30 p.m. Bldg. 1-202/203
November 22 Wednesday 3-4:30 p.m. Bldg. 1-202/203
December 8 Friday 12-1:30 p.m. Bldg. 1-202/203
December 19 Tuesday 4-5:30 p.m. Bldg. 1-202/203
January 17 Wednesday 2-3:30 p.m. Bldg. 1-202/203
February 1 Thursday 10-11:30 a.m. Bldg. 1-202/203
February 20 Tuesday 4-5:30 p.m. Bldg. 1-202/203
March 13 Tuesday 10-11:30 a.m. Bldg. 1-202/203
March 29 Thursday 12-1:30 p.m. Bldg. 1-202/203
May 8 Tuesday 3:30-5 p.m. Bldg. 1-202/203

 

TIME MANAGEMENT WORKSHOP- FALL 2017

The Counseling Department has developed this workshop to help students enrich their time management skills.  The workshop will provide students with tools and guidance and learn how to use their time more effectively.  In addition, this workshop will cover common obstacles to effective time management that will help students assess their won time and priorities.

Santa Maria Campus 
September 6 Wednesday 2-3:30 p.m. C-37
September 12 Tuesday 2-3:30 p.m. C-37
September 14 Thursday 2-3:30 p.m. C-37
September 20 Wednesday 2-3:30 p.m. C-37
September 26 Tuesday 2-3:30 p.m. C-37
September 28 Thursday 2-3:30 p.m. C-37
October 4 Wednesday 2-3:30 p.m. C-37
October 10 Tuesday 2-3:30 p.m. C-37
October 12 Thursday 2-3:30 p.m. C-37
October 18 Wednesday 2-3:30 p.m. C-37
October 24 Tuesday 2-3:30 p.m. C-37
October 26 Thursday 2-3:30 p.m. C-37
November 1 Wednesday 2-3:30 p.m. C-37
November 7 Tuesday 2-3:30 p.m. C-37
November 9 Thursday 2-3:30 p.m. C-37
November 15 Wednesday 2-3:30 p.m. C-37

 

    Lompoc Valley Center
September 25 Monday 3-4:30 p.m. Bldg 2-101
October 23 Monday 3-4:30 p.m. Bldg 2-101
November 27 Monday 3-4:30 p.m. Bldg 2-101

 

STUDY SKILLS WORKSHOP- FALL 2017

The Counseling Department has developed this workshop to help students develop/improve their study skills.  The workshop will also provide an activity that focuses on self-awareness and how it may relate to study styles/habits.  By attending this workshop, students will learn strategies to perform better and be successful in and out of the classroom.

Santa Maria Campus 
September 5  Tuesday 2-3:30 p.m. C-37
September 7 Thursday 2-3:30 p.m. C-37
September 13 Wednesday 2-3:30 p.m. C-37
September 19 Tuesday 2-3:30 p.m. C-37
September 21 Thursday 2-3:30 p.m. C-37
September 27 Wednesday 2-3:30 p.m. C-37
October 3 Tuesday 2-3:30 p.m. C-37
October 5 Thursday 2-3:30 p.m. C-37
October 11 Wednesday 2-3:30 p.m. C-37
October 17 Tuesday 2-3:30 p.m. C-37
October 19 Thursday 2-3:30 p.m. C-37
October 25 Wednesday 2-3:30 p.m. C-37
October 31 Tuesday 2-3:30 p.m. C-37
November 2 Thursday 2-3:30 p.m. C-37
November 8 Wednesday 2-3:30 p.m. C-37
November 14 Tuesday 2-3:30 p.m. C-37
November 16 Thursday 2-3:30 p.m. C-37

 

    Lompoc Valley Center
 October 9 Monday 2-3:30 p.m. Bldg 1-202/203
 November 13 Monday 2-3:30 p.m. Bldg 1-202/203
December 11 Monday 2-3:30 p.m. Bldg 1-202/203

UNIVERSITY TRANSFER CENTER WORKSHOPS-
FALL 2017

The University Transfer Center (UTC) provides informative workshops to assist students in the transfer process. View a list of scheduled workshops.

AHC NURSING PROGRAM WORKSHOP- FALL 2017

During the nursing workshops you will learn about our CNA, LVN, and RN requirements. This includes, prerequisites, application deadlines, AHC graduation requirements, the Board of Registered Nursing (BRN) requirements, and nursing priority registration. This workshop is intended for all students interested in AHC's nursing program. Prior to attending the workshop, students are required to complete an AHC admission application. In addition, students will receive an abbreviated Student Education Plan. 

Santa Maria Campus
August 23 Wednesday 10-11 a.m. A-103
September 20 Wednesday 5-6 p.m. A-103
October 20 Friday 12-1 p.m. A-103
November 16 Thursday 12-1 p.m. A-103
December 6 Wednesday 5-6 p.m. A-103

 

Lompoc Valley Center
August 16 Wednesday 12-1 p.m. Bldg 2-202/203
October 23 Monday 5-6 p.m. Bldg 2-202/203
December 6 Wednesday 12-1 p.m. Bldg 2-202/2013

PATHWAYS TO A BACHELOR'S OF SCIENCE IN NURSING (BSN) WORKSHOP- FALL 2017

Interested in transferring to a BSN program? Attend this workshop and learn more about the following routes to a BSN program:
*Basic Nursing or Pre Licensure program
*LVN to BSN
*ADN (RN) to BSN

In addition, you will learn about common prerequisites, CSU and UC general education requirements, admission application deadlines, and TEAS testing.

 Santa Maria Campus
August 15 Tuesday 10-11 a.m. A-103
September 11 Monday 5-6 p.m. A-103
October 10 Tuesday 12-1 p.m. A-103
November 8 Wednesday 2-3 p.m. A-103
December 4 Monday 5-6 p.m. A-103

 

Lompoc Valley Center
September 20 Monday 12-1 p.m. Bldg 1-202/203
November 20 Wednesday 5-6 p.m. Bldg 1-202/203

 

 

Top of Page

SPOTLIGHT

Kirsi Kilpelainen

Kirsi Kilpelainen
Culinary Arts Alumnus

"There is no better way to begin your culinary career than with the Allan Hancock College Culinary Program; and the new commercial kitchen is awesome."
Submit a Testimonial »

We're Changing
the Odds! 

Hancock College Video Thumbnail

Follow Hancock

icon-facebook icon-twitter icon-youtube Instagram Icon Flickr Icon More Social Media


Student Success Scorecard

Last Modified Oct 24, 2017